The Estate Sale GuideCarolinas · 2026
List your company
The Estate Sale Guide·14 min read

Estate Sale Company Licensing: Which States Regulate the Industry

What each state requires before someone can conduct an estate sale

Updated September 15, 2026

Estate Sale Company Licensing: Which States Regulate the Industry

Published October 1, 2026 · The Estate Sale Guide editorial team

Almost no state licenses estate sale companies. Two exceptions matter — Minnesota, which has required estate sale conductors to post a $20,000 bond since 2014, and Illinois, which as of January 1, 2026 requires a licensed auctioneer to run most public estate sales. Everywhere else, the rules that apply come from three other bodies of law: auctioneer licensing, sales tax collection, and ordinary business registration. This guide maps what actually governs a company in ten major states.

This article is general information, not legal advice. Statutes change; verify current requirements with the agency named in each section.

What you'll learn

  • Why "estate sale company" is almost never a licensed occupation
  • The two states with estate-sale-specific requirements, and exactly what they demand
  • What auctioneer licensing does and does not reach, statute by statute
  • Requirements in NC, SC, GA, FL, VA, TX, CA, NY, PA, and IL
  • Which states have no auctioneer licensing board at all
  • How to verify a company's credentials with the issuing agency

The baseline: an unlicensed occupation

Consumer and industry sources agree on the starting condition. One long-running operator states plainly that the estate sale industry is unlicensed and unregulated (Brown Button Estate Sales), and Chicago's Checkbook.org notes that no certification exists for estate liquidators, though membership organizations do (Checkbook.org). A Houston television investigation reached the same conclusion about Texas: there are no laws or licensing for the industry (KPRC 2).

The distinction that matters is format. A tagged-price sale — items marked with prices, sold first-come first-served — generally falls outside auction law. An auction — items bid on or negotiated competitively — generally does not. As one state licensing overview puts it for North Carolina, there is no license specific to estate sale companies, and tagged-price sales fall outside the state's auction statute (EstateSaleConnect).

Many states do not license auctioneers at all. States with no auctioneer licensing board include Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota (where bonds are issued at the county level), Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma (county-issued), Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming (NALLOA).

The two genuine exceptions

Minnesota: a bond aimed squarely at estate sales

Minnesota has the only statute in the country titled for this business. Minn. Stat. § 325E.70, "Estate Sale Conductors; Bonding Required," obliges an estate sale conductor to file a corporate surety bond of at least $20,000 with the treasurer of the county where the sale will occur, before entering into an agreement to conduct the sale (Minn. Stat. § 325E.70).

Details worth knowing:

  • The statute defines "estate sale" in a way that excludes auctions, and defines "estate sale conductor" separately (Minn. Stat. § 325E.70).
  • It applies to auctioneers as well, regardless of any bond posted under Minn. Stat. § 330.02 (Minn. Stat. § 325E.70).
  • Licensed CPAs and licensed attorneys are exempt (Minn. Stat. § 325E.70).
  • The requirement was enacted in 2013 and took effect January 1, 2014; counties accept the filing at no cost (Scott County).

The state promotes the requirement to consumers. The Minnesota Attorney General's office tells residents that state law requires an estate sale company to be bonded and cites the statute directly (Minnesota Attorney General). If you hire in Minnesota, ask which county holds the bond and confirm the filing.

Illinois: a new auctioneer requirement as of 2026

Illinois made the most consequential change in this industry in years. Under Public Act 104-0145, amending the Illinois Auction License Act, estate sales conducted on or after January 1, 2026 must be conducted by a licensed auctioneer when all four of the following are true (Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation):

  1. The sale is conducted for another person and for compensation;
  2. The sale is advertised and scheduled for a certain date and time;
  3. The sale is open to the public; and
  4. Personal property is bid on or negotiated for purchase (IDFPR Estate Sale FAQ).

The state's own guidance lists the exemptions: a sale conducted by the property owner, by a beneficiary of a trust or will, by an executor or administrator, or by a court-ordered guardian or receiver, along with transfers to third-party resellers, consignment shops, and donations (IDFPR Estate Sale FAQ). The statutory text is available from the legislature (Public Act 104-0145).

The fourth element does much of the work. A strictly tagged-price sale with no negotiation may fall outside the test; a sale where prices are haggled is squarely inside it. Since haggling is near-universal, Illinois families should ask any prospective company whether it holds an auctioneer license and how it applies the four-part test. Illinois also regulates internet auctions and requires a license for them (EstateSales.org).

Auctioneer licensing, state by state

North Carolina

North Carolina licenses auctioneers, apprentice auctioneers, and auction firms, and no person may act as one without a license (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 85B-4). The statute is unusual in that it defines the term estate sale directly: "The liquidation by sale at auction of real or personal property of a specified person" (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 85B-1). Note the words "at auction." Chapter 85B also defines the "conduct of an auction" broadly, reaching contracting, accepting consignments, advertising, offering items, and accepting or disbursing money (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 85B-1).

Exceptions include auctions conducted by the property owner, by a public authority, and "sales conducted by a receiver, trustee, guardian, administrator or executor... under order of any court," plus certain charitable and civic-club sales (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 85B-2). Critically, subsection (b) removes several of those exceptions for anyone "engaged in the business of organizing, arranging, or conducting auction sales for compensation" (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 85B-2) — so a professional liquidator cannot rely on the executor exemption.

Fees are capped by statute: $125 to apply, $75 for the examination, $250 for issuance or renewal, and $75 for reinstatement, for both auctioneers and auction firms; no local government may impose additional auctioneer fees or licenses (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 85B-6). Licensees also pay up to $50 a year into the Auctioneer Recovery Fund, which must be maintained at a minimum of $200,000 (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 85B-4.1).

For a tagged-price estate sale, no state license applies. Some cities require a local business license or a sign permit for sale signage (EstateSaleConnect). Verify auctioneer credentials with the North Carolina Auctioneer Licensing Board, whose licensure page sets out the steps. State sales tax treatment is conditional, at 4.75% (EstateSales.org).

South Carolina

South Carolina requires a license to sell or offer goods at auction (S.C. Code § 40-6-250). Applicants must be at least 18, complete either a one-year apprenticeship or 80 hours of classroom instruction, and submit a criminal history record and credit report with a $10 fee (S.C. Code § 40-6-230). An apprentice completes 80 hours of supervised training — 40 auctioneering, 10 ringing, 20 clerking, 10 cashiering — over not less than one year (SC LLR).

Business entities need a separate firm license; the only firms exempt are sole proprietorships, and online auctioneering also requires a South Carolina license (SC LLR) — a firm license is needed where a computer acts as the auctioneer (EstateSales.org). Sales tax applies to storefront sales at a 6% state rate (EstateSales.org).

Georgia

Georgia's Auctioneers Commission requires applicants to be at least 18 with a high school diploma or GED, complete a Commission-approved auctioneer school, and pass the Georgia Auctioneer Laws and Rules Exam (Georgia Secretary of State). The Commission applies a broad jurisdiction test — considering a storefront, consignments, contracts, receipt of funds, and the physical presence of the property — and requires penny-auction websites to be licensed; real property auctions additionally require a Georgia Real Estate Commission license (Georgia Secretary of State).

An auction company is exempt from a separate company license if the owner is a licensed auctioneer or the company employs a full-time supervising licensed auctioneer (Georgia Secretary of State). Fees for auctioneers and auction companies alike: $200 initial application, $150 Recovery Fund fee, $150 biennial renewal, $250 late renewal, $400 reinstatement, and a $250 penalty for unlicensed practice (Georgia Secretary of State fee schedule). Georgia does not apply sales tax to estate sales; its state rate is 4% (EstateSales.org).

Florida

Florida law states that no person shall conduct an auction without a license (Fla. Stat. § 468.385). An auctioneer must complete a one-year apprenticeship or 80 classroom hours, pass an examination, and receive board approval; an auction business must be separately licensed, licenses are not transferable, and owners must report changes within 30 days (Fla. Stat. § 468.385). Licenses are administered through the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (MyFloridaLicense).

Tagged-price estate sales are not covered. What does apply is tax: Florida charges 6% on most tangible personal property plus county surtaxes, and some companies collect and remit on the seller's behalf while others leave it to the family (Lion and Unicorn). A personal representative may also need court approval before selling estate property (Lion and Unicorn).

Virginia

Virginia licenses both individuals and firms through the Auctioneers Board, whose composition is set by statute — three of its members must be Virginia licensed auctioneers (Va. Code § 54.1-602). Applicants must be at least 18, complete an approved auctioneering school course, and pass the Virginia Licensed Auctioneer's Examination, disclosing non-marijuana misdemeanors within three years and all felonies within ten (18VAC25-21, Part II).

Virginia also requires a surety bond of at least $10,000, with proof required to obtain or renew a license; the regulation was amended effective October 1, 2025 (18VAC25-21-30). Verify licenses with the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR). A fifty-state review notes that Virginia licenses individuals and firms but leaves online auctions unregulated (EstateSales.org). Sales tax applies at a 5.3% state rate (EstateSales.org).

Texas

Texas is explicit about the boundary: "an auctioneer license is only needed to conduct live bid auctions," and the state removed its regulation of internet auctions (TDLR). Applicants must be at least 18, a U.S. citizen or legal alien, hold a high school diploma or equivalency, have no felony conviction within five years, complete 80 hours of classroom instruction at a TDLR-approved school, and pass an examination — or substitute two years of supervised experience across at least 10 auctions (TDLR).

Fees are modest: $75 for an associate auctioneer application ($25 license plus $50 Recovery Fund) and $100 for an auctioneer application ($50 plus $50) (TDLR). The governing law is Chapter 1802 of the Texas Occupations Code, implemented through 16 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 67, and auctioneers who accept consignments must be bonded (TDLR). A tagged-price estate sale in Texas requires no state occupational license. Sales tax applies at 6.25% (EstateSales.org).

California

California does not license auctioneers at all — it bonds them. Cal. Civ. Code § 1812.600 requires that "Every auctioneer and auction company shall maintain a bond," with a principal sum of $20,000, filed with the Secretary of State; no auctioneer or auction company may do business without a current bond, and failure to perform statutory duties carries a $1,000 civil penalty plus attorney's fees to a prevailing plaintiff (Cal. Civ. Code § 1812.600). California appears on the list of states with no auctioneer licensing board (NALLOA).

What California does regulate is tax collection. A fifty-state review notes that estate tag sales and auctions in California require a seller's permit (EstateSales.org), and sales tax applies at a 6% state rate (EstateSales.org). Probate thresholds are also shifting: Assembly Bill 2016 raises the small-estate threshold to $750,000 for primary residences (SoCal Home Clearouts).

New York

New York has no state auctioneer license and delegates the matter to city governments (EstateSales.org); it appears on the no-licensing-board list (NALLOA). New York City, historically the strictest jurisdiction in the state, has withdrawn its requirement: "You no longer need a license from the Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP) to sell goods at a public auction. As of June 15, 2022, DCWP no longer accepts new applications or renewals" (NYC311). The city maintains a separate article on the former Auction House License (NYC311).

For New York families, the operative checks are therefore business registration, insurance, and sales tax, which applies at a 4% state rate before local additions (EstateSales.org).

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania licenses auctioneers under the Auctioneer Licensing and Trading Assistant Registration Act, Act 41 (Pennsylvania Department of State). Three qualification routes exist: a two-year apprenticeship with at least 30 paid auctions; a Group A auction school program of 20 credit hours including two practicums, where a credit hour equals 15 standard hours of 50 minutes; or a Group B school combined with an apprenticeship (Pennsylvania Department of State).

The initial licensing fee is $200 and biennial renewal is $475, rising to $500 for the March 1, 2027–February 28, 2029 biennium; a bond is also required (Pennsylvania Department of State). A fifty-state review reports that Pennsylvania sets that bond at $5,000 and charges a $100 "Trading Assistant" registration fee for online platforms (EstateSales.org); the state page itself does not state the bond amount, so confirm it with the Board of Auctioneer Examiners (Pennsylvania Department of State). Pennsylvania does not apply sales tax to estate sales despite a 6% state rate (EstateSales.org).

What regulates the industry where nothing licenses it

In the majority of states, three things stand in for occupational licensing.

Sales tax registration. Whether a liquidator must collect tax varies from required to exempt to conditional, and in some states the answer turns on whether the liquidator discloses the property owner's name. A Massachusetts revenue ruling, Diane Sherman v. Commissioner of Revenue, held that a garage and yard sale manager was not a "vendor" under G.L. c. 64H, § 2 (EstateSales.org). Some states apply a general excise or transaction tax instead — Hawaii's 4% General Excise Tax and Arizona's Transaction Privilege Tax (EstateSales.org).

Local business registration. Some cities require a local business license or a sign permit for estate sale signage (EstateSaleConnect). North Carolina, notably, has no statewide business license requirement (EstateSales.org).

Voluntary self-regulation. The industry's trade group publishes a Code of Ethics with ten articles on duties to clients and the public and eight on duties to the profession (Antiques and Estate Liquidators). Membership is voluntary and not a license; verify any claim with the association itself rather than a logo (Antiques and Estate Liquidators).

Ordinary criminal law, the backstop. A Pennsylvania company owner was convicted of 13 counts of deceptive business practices and 13 counts of theft by unlawful taking after taking more than $35,000 from at least 15 clients (WFMZ). Prosecution is slow, which is why a written contract remains a family's primary protection.

How to verify, in practice

Go to the agency, not the company website. Ask for proof of general liability insurance and any applicable license (EstateSaleConnect), then check the relevant body: NCALB in North Carolina, SC LLR, the Georgia Auctioneers Commission, Florida's DBPR, Virginia's DPOR, TDLR in Texas, the California Secretary of State for bond filings, Pennsylvania's Board of Auctioneer Examiners, IDFPR in Illinois, or the county treasurer in Minnesota.

Frequently asked questions

Does any state license estate sale companies specifically? Only in a limited sense. Minnesota requires estate sale conductors to post a $20,000 bond with the county treasurer (Minn. Stat. § 325E.70), and Illinois requires a licensed auctioneer for estate sales meeting a four-part test as of January 1, 2026 (IDFPR). No state issues an "estate sale company" license as such.

Does a tagged-price sale require an auctioneer license? Generally no. Auction statutes reach sales where property is bid on or negotiated. North Carolina defines an estate sale as liquidation "by sale at auction" (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 85B-1), and tagged-price sales are described as falling outside that statute (EstateSaleConnect). Illinois's fourth element — property "bid on or negotiated for purchase" — is the exception to watch, since haggling can bring a tagged sale inside the rule (IDFPR Estate Sale FAQ).

Can an executor run a sale without a license? Statutes commonly exempt fiduciaries. North Carolina excepts sales conducted by a receiver, trustee, guardian, administrator, or executor under court order (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 85B-2), and Illinois exempts sales by the owner, a trust or will beneficiary, an executor or administrator, or a court-ordered guardian or receiver (IDFPR Estate Sale FAQ). But North Carolina removes several exceptions for anyone in the business of arranging auctions for compensation (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 85B-2), so a hired professional cannot borrow the executor's exemption.

Are online estate auctions regulated? Inconsistently. Texas removed regulation of internet auctions (TDLR), South Carolina requires a license for online auctioneering (SC LLR), Virginia leaves online auctions unregulated, and Illinois regulates internet auctions and requires a license (EstateSales.org). Georgia requires penny-auction websites to be licensed (Georgia Secretary of State).

Which states require a bond? Among those reviewed: Minnesota at $20,000 for estate sale conductors (Minn. Stat. § 325E.70), California at $20,000 for auctioneers and auction companies (Cal. Civ. Code § 1812.600), Virginia at a minimum of $10,000 (18VAC25-21-30), Pennsylvania (amount not stated on the state page) (Pennsylvania Department of State), and Texas for auctioneers accepting consignments (TDLR).

Is a recovery fund the same as a bond? No. A recovery fund is a pooled account financed by licensee fees that can compensate wronged consumers. North Carolina's fund collects up to $50 per licensee per year and must be maintained at a minimum of $200,000 (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 85B-4.1). Georgia charges a $150 Recovery Fund fee (Georgia Secretary of State fee schedule) and Texas $50 (TDLR). These funds attach to auction licensing, not to tagged-price estate sales.

If my state licenses nobody, what protects me? Your contract, primarily — do not hire a company without one (EstateSales.NET) — plus proof of insurance (EstateSaleConnect), references from recent clients (Checkbook.org), and your state consumer protection office. See our contract checklist for the specific clauses that matter most.


Ready to find an estate sale company in your area? Browse verified companies or request quotes from 3 vetted companies.

Ready to look at companies?

The directory lists hand-verified estate sale companies across the Carolinas — every listing traced back to the company's own website and current active sales.